Advice Service closed 12th May

Meet Your BAME Ambassadors

Find out more out your BAME Ambassadors, who is representing BAME voices in your faculty and what they wish to achieve in their role to tackle the BAME Attainment Gap and ensure diversity across the institution. You can also find their emails if you wish to get in contact with any of the ambassadors.


Science & Health Faculty BAME Ambassadors

Iseoluwakiiti Oyelude | iseoluwakiiti.oyelude@upsu.net 

"It is so incredibly impossible for students to feel listened to and know their voices matter when it comes to policies that are introduced, equally with removing policies that don't take into account the struggles of all BAME students. Hopefully within this role, I hope to act as a support system and a friendly face to make sure that you can get the best out of your university experience and leave with positive experiences."


Shakiba Moghadam | shakiba.moghadam@upsu.net

"In this role, I aim to support and shine a light on the refugee, asylum seeker and displaced student population, create a platform whereby students from various ethnic backgrounds are able to voice their experiences and concerns in a safe space and implement a bottom-up approach to understand the lived experiences of students from various ethnicities. Moreover, I will work closely with the Students' Union to tackle the attainment gap within our University and understand the barriers and difficulties which lead to yearly drop-out rates."


Stacey Addo | stacey.addo@upsu.net

"BAME students need to be well represented with a loud, proud voice"


Business & Law Faculty BAME Ambassadors

Erykah Edevbie | erykah.edevbie@upsu.net

"Advancing the academic and personal experience of every BAME student will be at the heart of everything I do, this year as a BAME ambassador"


Electra Valentine | electra.valentine@upsu.net

"My aim is to ensure that every student is heard and represented equally. I will implement change by working to close the BAME Attainment Gap, helping to run campaigns and raising discussions. As a final year law student, I understand first hand the challenges that may arise during University. Therefore, I hope to be a friendly face and offer support at all times."


Varoosha Nithythasan | varoosh.nithythasan@upsu.net

"I want to help create a safe space for BAME students to talk about their experiences, sharing our stories helps others to understand. Let's take the first steps together!"


Creative & Cultural Industries Faculty BAME Ambassadors

Morgan Holder | morgan.holder@upsu.net

"My aim for this role is to create a voice in which students can communicate how they feel; I believe it is important that all students are educated on BAME communities and their impact."


Daniel Dehghani | daniel.dehghani@upsu.net

"I aim to support students of the University to focus on the issues which we plan to challenge and to ensure that everyone has a sense of ability for personal growth."


Technology Faculty BAME Ambassadors 

Rae Peters | olanrewaju.peters@upsu.net

"To listen to any of their issues to relay them to the University and to make a lasting positive impact on the University during my time in this role. I decided to apply for this role because I believe it is so important for BAME students to receive the support we need to achieve the best results possible to start to close the BAME Attainment Gap, as I am of the strong belief that your performance in education should never be hindered by your background."


Alex Donovan-Lowe | alexander.donovan-lowe@upsu.net

"To listen to any of their issues to relay them to the University and to make a lasting positive impact on the University during my time in this role. I decided to apply for this role because I believe it is so important for BAME students to receive the support we need to achieve the best results possible to start to close the BAME Attainment Gap, as I am of the strong belief that your performance in education should never be hindered by your background."


Humanities & Social Sciences Faculty BAME Ambassadors 

Beulah Waritimi | beulah.waritimi@upsu.net

"I want BAME students to know they are seen, heard and are of infinite value."


Pariise-Jade David-McLeod | pariise-jade.david-mcleod@upsu.net

"Our skin colour shouldn't prevent us from greatness. The University needs to be held accountable for their lack of supportive policies"


Gurvinder Uppal | gurvinder.uppal@upsu.net

"I believe greater discussions need to be had in the university community about race and racism, thus I want to play a key part in creating more opportunities to talk about these important issues."

Contact us

The University of Portsmouth Students’ Union has a vision of creating a positive impact with every Portsmouth student during their time at University.

© 2020 UPSU. Registered charity number 1136115, a company limited by guarantee in England and Wales number 3934555.

Site designed, developed and managed by MemPlus