Union Awards 2023 Wrap Up

This year's Union Awards was a great evening to celebrate the achievements of you, the students! Missed out on who the winners were of this years awards? Don't worry we have you covered.

  • Posted Fri, May 26, 2023 8:13 AM

On Thursday 4th May, we hosted our Annual Union Awards to celebrate you! The wonderfully talented students of the University of Portsmouth.

Bringing together individuals and groups from across the Union to celebrate your successes, with a drinks reception and awards ceremony highlighting the work and efforts of all this years nominees and winners.

This year's Officer Team were your hosts for the evening, joined on stage by various cohosts throughout the evening to present certain awards, including the University's Vice-Chancellor, Graham Galbraith. 

Temidayo Dosunmu, your Development Officer had the following to say:

What a night to remember as we celebrate the best of the best of what University of Portsmouth has to offer, from 7's to PAL to Course Rep/Faculty Reps to Student Groups and Staff, It really was a night. Even though it took a while to prepare and present it, and we were all exhausted running up and down attempting to put it together, the students' excitement and happiness made the entire experience worthwhile, and I wouldn't change anything for the world. Congratulations to all of the winners and nominations on this special day. We salute you all for going above and beyond to make a difference on campus and around the world, and for being the next generation of leaders, innovators, and change makers. You are an inspiration to all of us, and we can't wait to see what you do in the coming years. Let us continue to collaborate to make a difference on campus and beyond.

Please see below the list of students nominated in each category for the Union Awards and the winner. 

Student Staff of the year - Student Facing

Gracie Patchett

Winner: Karolinne Cruciata

Paula Garcia Del Olmo

Student Staff of the Year - Special Contribution (UPSU)

Winner: Anastasia Cangeri

Rebecca Downey

Andreea Florea

Student Staff of the Year - Special Contribution (PSUT)

Charlotte Cote

Winner: Isabel Woods

Mazhalini Rukkma Nirmalan

Student Staff of the Year - Peer Advisor

Sophie Sparks

Emma Short

Winner: Luke Basford

UoP Student Staff of the Year

Alexander-Donovan Lowe

Luke Basford 

Winner: Gaia Cawley

Exceptional Teaching Award

Winner: Jovana Radulovic

Ed Stoddard

Robert Baldock

Martin Brock

Student Partnership Awards (Staff Award)

Winner: Dr Harriet Dunbar-Morris

Winner: Louise Fell

Winner: Anna Clodfelter

Winner: Megan Selley

Best New Group

Nacho Society

Winner: Politics Society

Bodybuilding Society

Most Improved Group

Winner: Space Society

Roleplaying Gaming Society

Japanese Society

Best Collaboration

Kickboxing, BJJ & MMA Society

Winner: Pure FM

Nepalese Society

Best Event

Winner: Nerdvana

Festival of Colours

White Swan Fringe Festival

Group of the Year

Winner: Pole Dancing Club

Theatrical Arts Society

Korean Society

Best Academic Society

Space Society

Winner: Biomedical Society

Pharmacy Society

Course Rep of the Year

Winner: Oltian Bullatovci

Maya Amartalal

Abigail Norman

Roxana Negru Award (Spirit of Participation)

Maizey Annear

Suzie Dunn

Winner: Ellie Terrett

Sophie Sparks

Change Maker Award (Commitment to EDI)

Lanre Peters

Alex Donovan-Lowe

Luke Basford

Winner: Jocelyn Ampofo-Manu

Half Colours 

Amelie Barnes
Amy Alexander
Andrew Spillane
Caitlin Senior
Cal Twose
Charlie Cote
Chris Johnson
Dimple Raj
Dylan Cohen
Ellie Terrett
Eloise Roberts
Gracie Patchett
Jess MacKlin
Jocelyn Ampofo-Manu
Jodie Harrington
Joshua Hailey
Nana Adjei
Norbert Gonczol
Rebecca Downey
Sophie Sparks
Tina Bowden

Full Colours 

Alexander Donovan-Lowe
Andrzej Korczynski
Ben Manning
Connor Sutherland
Ella Hinkley
Elyse Hale
George Gregory
Hailee Jingree
Ishaq Njuki
Kajetan Albin
Kieran O’Brien
Kimberly Williams
Kris Nolan
Kurt Price
Lanre Peters
Lewis Dodson
Lukas Amosovas
Maizey Annear
Marija Solic
Mitch Hoult
Suzie Dunn

7S Completers

From the School of Psychology 

Charlie Gould
Vienna Kemp
Lucy Cammock
Luke Basford
Hollie Clarke
Paige Bartlett
Cally Brittain
Ma'at Osbourne
Lydia Branch
Jayden Young
Alyce Tompkins
Tamzin Hulson
Laura Rafaela Goncalves Vasconcelos
Nada Abbas
Marija Solic

From the School of Law

Freya Piper
Dasha Thorpe
Ellie Dixon
Bipana Pun
Sabrik Dhamu
Karina Homanko
Maryam Fagbohun
Geitha Balamurali

From the School of Mechanical & Design Engineering

Abbie Bewley
Oliver Frost
Loren Kerry
Emily-Jane Faulkes
Fehim Korkmaz
Dariusz Kosinski
Freya Marley

From the School of Area Studies, History, Politics & Literature

Finn Wardle Gellatley

7S Ambassadors

Hailee Jingree 
Kajetan Albin 
Nana Adjei 
Caitlin Senior 
Anwar Jawula 
Jessica MacKlin 
Kieran O'Brien Marija 
Solic Andreea Florea 
Karolinne Cruciata 
Mohan Srinivasan 
Hugh Wallis 
Emily Botting 
Dimple Raj 
Dhanika Balsara 
Emilija Poderyte 
Rachel McDonagh 
Andrew Bill 
Callum Redgrave 
Thomas Aitchison 
Marlena Gajda 
Jade Etzberger 
Maria Czubala 
Huda Baig 
Paula Garcia Del Olmo 
Maisan AL-Farsi 
Klara Vojtova
Mariana Varela Pereira 
Modupe Ilesanmi 
Peyli Chee 
Deena Mahmood Al Salmi 
Spoorthi Rao 
Nathan Zelli 
Ayodasola Ayo-Adeyemo 
Jodie Harrington

PAL Recognition Awards

From Paramedic Science: Kelly Stocker 

From Nursing: Charlotte Reedman

From Pharmacy: Luke Miller and Noor Haitham

Thank you to all those that attended and congratulations again to all students nominated and our winners. 

The Union Awards are a great time of year to really see in action the Union's core values through everything you, the students have achieved! So give yourself all a pat on the back for the goals you've achieved this year, not matter how big or small, you've accomplished them and should be proud!

Contact Us

Portsmouth SU Footer Logo

The University of Portsmouth Students’ Union has a vision of creating a positive impact with every Portsmouth student during their time at University.

© 2024 UPSU. Registered charity number 1136115, a company limited by guarantee in England and Wales number 3934555.